Coahuila State is located in the middle of the northern border of Mexico and is entirely landlocked.

It is bounded on the north by the USA, on the east by Nuevo Leon, on the south by San Luis Potos� and Zacatecas, on the northeast by Durango, and on the west by Chihuahua. It has an area of 150,395 sq km (58,068 sq mi), which is third place in size among the states of Mexico, and a population of approximately 2'298,070 inhabitants.

There are at least two theories about the origin of its name. Some assert that the word came from the name from an Indian tribe that lived in the region. Others say that it came from the Nahuatl word "Coatlhilana", which means "Flying snake" or "Creeping snake".

Coahuila has four types of climate: Depending on the region, diverse climates exist throughout the state. With an average temperature 25�C (77�F) and an annual precipitation of 40 mm (1-3/4 in,), the climate for the Southeastern region varies from dry to semi-dry and from mild to warm. In the Laguna region, the climate is mostly dry with some semi-dry and mild like the Jimulco mountain ranges. In the Central Region, a semi-dry and warm climate predominates. In the Northern area, the climate is dry and and warm.

Poblation Centers: Saltllo, 25.14%, Torreon, 23.05; Monclova, 8.44% and Piedras Negras, 5.57%

|  Back to Mexican Republic map in Tour By Mexico �  |



People who are reading this page right now visiting from... 


Tour By Mexico �
e-mail:       Phone: (999) 167-9284