San Jose y San Miguel
Missionaries from Loreto, exploring the area in search of more sites to
establish missions, discovered Comondu 32 miles northwest of that port, just
about halfway between the two
and located beside a spring where lived several tribes of Indians.
In 1708 Fathers Juan Mar�a Salvatierra, Juan de Ugarte and Jilian Mayorga traveled to the site of the new mission. Father Julian Mayorga was in charge of the project and remained there until his death on November 10 of 1736. In 1750 the Austrian Father Franz Inama began the construction of a temple, huge structure comprising of three buildings which was used through 1827 and the rafter abandoned. At the beginning of the twentieth century, a large part of the church was demolished and the material being used to construct a school. Large sections of walls lying in ruins around the building give visitors an idea of the magnitude of the original structure. Three bells still remain dating 1697, 1708 and 1741.
For a long
time, Comondu was prosperous and almost self sufficient, cultivating many
kinds of fruits, vegetables and other plants. Each year at the harvest time,
ancient mills would come alive, turning the cane into various products for
human consumption. Homemade stills were used to make excellent liquors and
olive oil was produced in great quantities. Fernando Jordan said that Comondu had a smell of liquor and olive and we would add that it also smelt
of cane syrup, mesquite fires and geraniums. Cattle produced meat, cheese,
butter, whey and leather which was used to manufacture several products
specially leather containers known as "Zurrones"
villages provide the ideal jumping off place for those who Love adventure,
ecotourism, regional history and culture, Oases in the desert and rugged
peaks with cave paintings provide a multitude of sites to explore.
Baja California Sur State �
People who are reading this page right now visiting from...
Tour By Mexico �